# Minutes of the First Annual General Meeting The Forensic Science Society of Malaysia

Date : 14 April 2009 Time : 2.30 pm. Place : Auditorium, Level 1, Bangunan Forensik Jabatan Kimia Malaysia, Petaling Jaya

#### Attendance: As attached.

Number of attendees to AGM was 73 members which constitute more than the required number necessary for a quorum.

The floor unanimously appointed the Protem President, En N Hithaya Jeevan to preside over and chair the Annual General Meeting.

### Address from the Chairman.

The Chairman welcomed everyone to Kimia Malaysia and to the first annual General Meeting of the Forensic Science Society of Malaysia. The Chairman informed the floor of the passing of one of the Society's earliest applicant Pn Rosni Hamid, an experienced forensic chemist from Jabatan Kimia Malaysia, Penang and conveyed the Society's condolence to the bereaved family.

The Chairman reminded the floor, the objectives of this Society i.e is to advance the study and application of forensic science, facilitate cooperation among forensic practitioners, organize lectures, discussion on forensic science and promote activities for the advancement of forensic science in Malaysia.

The protem committee whose members were from many different agencies had initiated some ground work for the committee proper to continue including coming up with a Code of Ethics for the Society. The formation of the Society is timely as forensic work is getting more publicity and exposure from the media. The Society can be a forum for the exchange of ideas and knowledge not just between practitioners in Malaysia but also forensic agencies of other countries. FSSM is a new society and therefore depends very much on contribution from members in terms of ideas, resources and support. Active participation from members is required so that the society can flourish. The Chairman asked members to work together, contribute in any way, and with all the distinguished professionals present, that should not be difficult to achieve.

The Chairman expressed his appreciation to the Protem Committee members who had work hard despite their busy schedules to initiate activities for the Society and also to the organizing committee who made all the necessary arrangements for the AGM.

# Voting of Committee Members

Voting was carried out by ballot papers. Thirteen members were elected into the committee who, among them, appointed the office bearers.

Twenty (20) nominations were received-details as attached.

Of the twenty, 13 names with the highest number of votes were elected into the committee.

1.	Primulapathi Jaya	-	68 votes
2.	Assoc Prof Shahrom Wahid	-	67 votes
3.	N Hithaya Jeevan	-	66 votes
4.	Rosnah Awang	-	66 votes
5.	ACP Dr Yew Chong Hooi	-	63 votes
6.	Dr Zafarina Zainuddin	-	62 votes
7.	Sivanathan Subramaniam	-	57 votes
8.	Ahmad Ridzuan Ibrahim	-	48 votes
9.	Rusikah Minhad	-	47 votes
10.	Ng Hock Sing	-	45 votes
11.	Dr Ahmad Fahmi Lim Abdullah	-	45 votes
12.	Dr Mohamad Hadzri Yaacob	-	44 votes
13.	Nor Aidora Saedon	-	42 votes

# Appointment of auditors

Two auditors were appointed to carry out audits for the Society's financial activities, namely

- 1. Supt Lisa Tang
- 2. En Wong Kong Yong

## Amendments to Constitution

Several typo and grammatical errors of the Constitution were raised to the floor for amendments.

- 4. MEMBERSHIP
  - 4.6 Every applicant whose application has been approved as aforesaid shall, upon payment of the prescribed entrance fee and first <u>monthly</u> subscription, be admitted as a member of the Society and shall be entitled to all the privileges of membership.

Amend as :

- 4. MEMBERSHIP
  - 4.6 Every applicant whose application has been approved as aforesaid shall, upon payment of the prescribed entrance fee and first <u>annual</u> subscription, be admitted as a member of the Society and shall be entitled to all the privileges of membership.
- 9. COMMITTEE
  - 9.3 Names for the above offices in paragraph (1) shall be proposed and seconded and election will be by a simple majority vote of the members at the annual general meeting. All the office-bearers shall hold <u>officers</u> for a period of three years and is eligible for reelection.

## Amend as :

- 9. COMMITTEE
  - 9.3 Names for the above offices in paragraph (1) shall be proposed and seconded and election will be by a simple majority vote of the members at the annual general meeting. All the office-bearers shall hold <u>office</u> for a period of three years and is eligible for reelection.

## 12. FINANCIAL PROVISIONS

12.1 Subject to the following provisions in <u>this</u> rules, the funds of the Society may be expended for the purpose necessary for the carrying out of its <u>objects</u>, including the expenses of its office-bearers and paid staff, and the audit of its accounts, but they shall on no account be used to pay the fine of any member who may be convicted in a court of law.

Amend as :

- **12. FINANCIAL PROVISIONS** 
  - 12.1 Subject to the following provisions in <u>these</u> rules, the funds of the Society may be expended for the purpose necessary for the carrying out of its <u>objectives</u>, including the expenses of its office-bearers and paid staff, and the audit of its accounts, but they shall on no account be used to pay the fine of any member who may be convicted in a court of law.

### 13. AUDITORS

13.1 Two <u>persons</u> <u>member</u> of the Society who shall not be officebearers of the Society, shall be appointed once in three years at the annual general meeting as Auditors. They shall hold office for three years and may be reappointed. Two persons member of the Society who shall not be office-bearers of the Society, shall be appointed once in three years at the annual general meeting as Auditors. They shall hold office for three years and may be reappointed.

Amend as :

- 13. AUDITORS
  - 13.1 Two <u>members</u> of the Society who shall not be office-bearers of the Society, shall be appointed once in three years at the annual general meeting as Auditors. They shall hold office for three years and may be reappointed. Two persons member of the Society who shall not be office-bearers of the Society, shall be appointed once in three years at the annual general meeting as Auditors. They shall hold office for three years and may be reappointed.

The above amendments were agreed unanimously by the floor.

The AGM was adjourned at 5.00pm with words of appreciation from the Chairman to all those present.

## Election of Office Bearers

The elected committee members convened after the AGM to elect the office bearers.

The elected office bearers:

President	-	N.Hithaya Jeevan
Vice President	-	ACP Dr Yew Chong Hooi
Secretary	-	Rosnah Awang
Asst Secretary	-	Nor Aidora Saedon
Treasurer	-	Primulapathi a/l Jaya Krishnan
Asst. Treasurer	-	Rusikah Minhad
Committee Members	-	Dr Zafarina Zainuddin

- Assoc Prof Shahrom Wahid
- Sivanathan
- Dr Mohamad Hadzri Yaacob
- Dr Ahmad Fahmi Lim Abdullah
- Ahmad Ridzuan Ibrahim
- Ng Hock Sing

#### Matters discussed:

- 1. Society to issue Certificate of Membership to members Secretary will draft and e-mail to committee members for review
- 2. Membership drive committee members to go on membership drive
- 3. Secretary to inform committee members of meeting two weeks before date of meeting.
- 4. Code of Ethics Dr Fahmi will forward draft for consideration
- 5. To consider at next committee meeting:
  - Website for Society
  - Information sheet and flyers of activities
  - Set up group e-mail contact
- 6. Committee to consider appointment of co-opt members from various agencies.

Prepared by:

Rosnah Awang (Secretary)

. ..

Approved by:

.....

N. Hithaya Jeevan (President)